Sutherland Newsletter – April 15, 2010


Dr. Edwin Feulner, president of The Heritage Foundation in Washington, D.C., will present the Sutherland Institute Limited Government Award to Utah Senate President Michael Waddoups and Speaker of the House David Clark at the Legacy Awards Banquet on Thursday evening, May 13, 2010 at Rice-Eccles Stadium & Towers in Salt Lake City.


President Waddoups and Speaker Clark were selected to receive the prestigious award for their work promoting the proper role of government.  Dr. Feulner has praised them for their recent op-ed, A modest proposal to the federal government: Let Utah do it, published February 19, 2010, inThe Washington Post.


The 2010 Legacy Awards Banquet will not be the first Sutherland event Dr. Feulner has attended.  In 2008, he came to Utah for the launch of the Institute’s Center for Limited Government, one of the four Sutherland policy centers.


At its annual Legacy Awards Banquet, the Institute honors individuals, couples, and organizations that exemplify Sutherland’s governing principles.  The Honorable James V. Hansen and his wife, Ann, will be the 2010 recipients of the Legacy Award, and the Pete Suazo Business Center will receive the Personal Responsibility Award.


The Legacy Awards Banquet is a formal event.  Individuals or organizations wishing to sponsor the event or purchase individual seats should call Allison Holmes at 801-355-1272, or email her at



Sutherland Institute will present The Honorable James V. Hansen and his wife, Ann, with its annual Legacy Award at the 2010 Legacy Awards Banquet on Thursday evening, May 13, at the Rice-Eccles Stadium & Towers in Salt Lake City.


Each year Sutherland honors an outstanding Utah couple with this prestigious award.  The Hansens will be recognized for their lifetime of service in promoting faith, family, and freedom.


Jim Hansen represented Utah’s 1st District as a member of the United States Congress from 1981-2003, and was a member of the Utah House of Representatives from 1973-1980, where he served as Speaker of the House from 1979-1980.  Jim Hansen also served as a member of the Farmington City Council and in numerous leadership positions in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, including time as a bishop and stake president.


Ann Hansen is also well-known for her service to family, friends, neighbors, her community, and her country.  The Honorable Ted Stewart, U.S. District Court judge and family friend of the Hansens, will be presenting the Legacy Award to the couple.


Other honorees include Utah Senate President Michael Waddoups and Speaker of the HouseDavid Clark who will receive Sutherland’s Limited Government Award for their work promoting the proper role of government.  Dr. Edwin Feulner, president of the Heritage Foundation in Washington, D.C., will be in attendance to present the award to Speaker Clark and President Waddoups.


The Personal Responsibility Award will be presented to The Pete Suazo Business Center for its efforts promoting and encouraging personal responsibility.  The Pete Suazo Business Center just celebrated its 19th graduating class, has served more than 5800 individuals by means of its programs and seminars, and has helped to create more than 1,100 jobs for people in Utah.  Center volunteers have devoted more than 7,800 hours counseling clients and students now engaged in Utah’s business community.


Alicia Suazo, widow of the first Hispanic Utah State Senator and Center namesake, Pete Suazo, will present the award.  Accepting on behalf of the organization will be Gladys Gonzalez, chair and founder of the Pete Suazo Business Center.