logo


1.Citizens Must Help Work Toward Government ransparency

In an opinion-editorial published in the Deseret News on July 27, 2008, Derek Monson, a policy analyst for the Sutherland Institute, wrote that real transparency in government requires public participation.


“Without citizen participation, in a best-case scenario public officials will recognize that creating transparent government is about protecting fundamental freedoms, maintaining representative government and increasing public accountability. Unfortunately, this is not a common occurrence.


In a worst-case scenario, government officials will take advantage of a lack of public involvement in order to withhold from the people critical information concerning Utah’s governance. By doing so, they subvert both the freedoms of Utah citizens and representative government for their own personal aims.”


Monson urges Utahns to contact the members of the Utah Transparency Advisory Board and let them know what information should be included on Utah’s public-finance website.


 


Names and Email Addresses of Members of the Transparency Advisory Board


Jonathan Ball (Chair), Legislative Fiscal Analyst: jball@utah.gov


John Nixon (Vice Chair), Office of Planning and Budget: jnixon@utah.gov


Stephen Fletcher, Department of Technology Services: sfletcher@utah.gov


Myron March, Judicial Council: myronm@utcourts.gov


Sen. Wayne Niederhauser: wniederhauser@utahsenate.org


John Reidhead, Division of Finance: jreidhead@utah.gov


Rep. Ken Sumsion: ksumsion@utah.gov

 

2.Remembering Our Pioneer Heritage

As we celebrate an important part of Utah’s heritage tomorrow with Pioneer Day activities, the words of the Sutherland Institute’s founder, Gaylord K. Swim, are a reminder of what we can do to continue making Utah a great place to live, work, and raise a family:

“One of Utah’s early pioneers, John Taylor, foresaw the day when many people not of the LDS faith would flock to Utah’s valleys to receive the protection of the law and to live among an honest and just people [Journal of Discourses, vol. 21, page 8].  If that is to happen, and I believe it can and will, then Utah needs to be different.  Utah will need to lead out in civility and virtue (both public and private), and lead with freedom under law.”

May you and your family enjoy celebrating Utah’s heritage and the principles that guided those who arrived in 1847.

 

Painting: Pioneers Arriving by Minerva Teichert

Share with your friends and family…